Honorary Awards - OTC Foundation

Honorary Awards

Honorary Awards 2021

Theodore Miclau III, MD is Professor and Director of the Orthopaedic Trauma Institute at the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of California San Francisco. He is member of the OTCF Research Committee since its inception in 2005 and its chairman since 2010. As such he presided over scientific symposia and directed the review and award of OTCF research grants. He was coeditor of Injury supplement publications which summarized the results of these hot topic symposia. He was instrumental in developing course curricula on clinical research in English and Spanish, allowing for outreach to Latin American countries where he organized such courses.

Honorary Awards 2019
Professor Takashi Matsushita MD., DMSc., is Chairman of the Department of Traumatology at the Fukushima Medical University and also Director of the Trauma and Reconstruction Center at Southern TOHOKU General Hospital. He has been an ardent supporter of JABO, the Japanese OTC chapter over many years. He was also instrumental in starting a national FFN (Fragility Fracture Network) in Japan, and is most experienced in the chipping technique for treatment of deformity and of nonunion. He received the OTCF Honorary Award at the Leadership Forum 2019 in Amsterdam.

Honorary Awards 2018

Prof. Dr. Volker Bühren, Germany, has been one of the founding fathers of the OTC Foundation starting with the membership of the first OTCF Executive Committee from 2007 to 2010. This was followed by his assignment to the OTCF Board of Trustees from 2013 until today. He was host to many OTCF Fellows at his trauma institute in Murnau, Germany, and participated in numerous educational events of different chapters. His scientific interests made him a regular supporter and guest at ‘hot topic’ research workshops. His professional leadership provided valuable guidance to the work of the foundation and also personal assistance through critical periods.

Honorary Awards 2017

Prof. Enrique Guerado, Spain, for his personal engagement in the startup and development of the OTC Foundation. His involvement and support included from the outset membership of the Education Committee and then the Executive Board. After having been OTCF President in 2014, he joined the Executive Board as Regional Coordinator Latina where he combined the Iberian and Latin American OTC chapters. With a Webinar course in Spanish in 2015, he opened new avenues in the education program of the Global OTC Alliance.

Honorary Awards 2015

Dr. Gilbert Taglang MD, France, for his long-standing presidency of AIOD Strasbourg which preceded the creation of the OTC Foundation. He served the OTCF as member of its Executive Committee since its inception. Conducting annually for more than 20 years, the international improvement course on locking nailing and external fixation techniques for nurses, residents and op-staff in Strasbourg witnesses his outstanding professional leadership and educational dedication.

Honorary Awards 2014

Prof. Melvin P. Rosenwasser, USA, for his dedicated leadership during difficult times at the helm of EXCO since the OTCF launch in 2007 in Nice. He notably helped its restart in 2012 and consolidation happening.

Honorary Awards 2014

Prof. Petr Patka, Netherlands, for his ten years of chairing and guiding RECO and its broad program of research grants, scientific events and leading methodology development. Serving on EXCO during recent years confirms his dedication to the foundation.